Boston Training: Week 1 Recap

Most marathon training plans involve at least 16 weeks of preparation for a race. Because I participated in and then recovered from a 50K distance event at the beginning of January, my official training for Boston started 13 weeks from race day (April 21). I am not starting from scratch without a running base, but this first week’s return to marathon training was a good reminder that I’ve spent the seven weeks since Kiawah Island Marathon turning in reduced, all easy pace weekly mileage. It’s time to get back to work!

Each week between now and the Boston Marathon, I plan to submit a short wrap-up of Monday-Sunday’s workouts. Here’s how Week 1, January 21-27, went:

Monday – 8 miles easy in the morning, out and back from my house. 30 minutes on the spin bike at the Y that afternoon.

Tuesday – 6 miles with 6 X 2:00 at 5% incline on the treadmill.

Wednesday – Cross-trained by teaching spinning and then 25 min. of fast incline treadmill walking.

Thursday – I opted to sleep in vs. run early, the only time I could get out this day. No surprise, early morning workouts are not my favorite! So it became the week’s rest day.

Friday – 6 miles easy, out and back from my house. At the end I did 4 X 100m strides.

Saturday – Somewhat hilly 25K tune-up race done as a long run at Fort Story, Va. I ran each mile by feel and ended up doing 4 at marathon pace range (approximately 8:35/mile).  This run is part of a series the Tidewater Striders sponsor for the Shamrock Marathon.  It’s very well-attended and well-supported with shelter and food pre- and post-race, chip timing, aid stations, etc.

 

Sunday – 6 miles recovery/easy at Fun Junktion, the location in the photos above. I rediscovered the 1.25 mile pond loop after a couple years of not running at the park about 3 miles from my house. Since I last visited, mile markers have been installed in such a way that I could easily do 400 and 800m repeats here! It’s more scenic than a track for sure.

Totals:41.5 miles + 2 cross-training workouts; 1 weights session; 7 pilates or yoga sessions (mostly teaching)

Good stuff:First and foremost I was healthy and able to complete each workout; Intermittent, nonspecific yet noticeable lower leg achiness seems to be subsiding from my right leg; I rediscovered a local place to run; The 25K race photogs. put on their Flattering Lens, so I am not cringing at the race photos.

Stuff to keep an eye on: Lower leg stuff isn’t 100% gone post-runs; Hill running technique; Adding back enough quality workouts (interval, tempo, and marathon paces) to increase marathon-specific fitness.

Goals for the coming week: Stay healthy and able to complete each workout; Return to being more mindful with nutrition again; Safely travel and successfully complete a hilly long run in Shenandoah National Park during the weekend (weather permitting).

0 Responses to “Boston Training: Week 1 Recap”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

a

Pages


