How Much Baggage Does One Person Need for a 13.1 Mile Trip?

One advantage of running compared to other sports that’s frequently given lip service is “It’s simple. You just need a pair of shoes.”

I don’t know who says that and what they are smoking. Obviously they’ve never packed for a destination race. Especially one with a wild and variable forecast, like tomorrow’s Shamrock Sportsfest half and full marathons.

As I write this post, I’m about to finish preparations for an overnight in Virginia Beach. Running shoes may be at the top of my packing list, but they’re only the beginning. Here’s the unabridged version:

  • Newer running shoes
  • Backup pair of shoes in case anything happens
  • Two tank tops, because I’m not sure what one I’ll want to wear
  • Short-sleeve technical shirt in case I don’t want to wear a tank
  • Long-sleeve technical shirt just in case I want that
  • Windbreaker jacket
  • Running shorts
  • Capri-length tights in case I don’t want to wear shorts
  • Two pairs socks in case anything happens to one
  • Sports bra
  • Hat
  • Gloves
  • Watch
  • Throwaway shirt (for cool weather) and garbage bag (for rainy weather) in case I want to wear either before the race starts.
  • Body Glide to prevent chafing
  • Sunscreen
  • During-race fuel (Gu)
  • Pre-race breakfast (instant oatmeal packets and peanut butter, plus bowl and spoon)
  • Post-race refueling items
  • Camera
  • Plus the usual stuff a non-running person would bring for an overnight trip (pajamas, change of clothes, toothbrush, etc.)

We runners may want to tread lightly but as you see, that requires considerable overpacking!

1 Response to “How Much Baggage Does One Person Need for a 13.1 Mile Trip?”


  1. 1 Divaleh March 18, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I think you may have packed less than I usually do 🙂 It’s so difficult to gauge how you’re going to feel the morning of a race, and there is NOTHING worse than running 13.1 miles thinking “Man, I wish I’d worn…”.

    I applaud your packing efforts. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

    -Staci


Leave a Reply

a

Pages


