Enter My Boston Marathon Finish Time Prediction Contest

As of today, I’m 8 days away from attempting the Boston Marathon. This 26.2-mile road running event is the oldest marathon in the United States, and the only one that requires participants to run a qualifying time in a previous marathon to be allowed entry.

The race course is challenging, so I’m asking you for a little boost up the famous hills. Don’t worry, you don’t have to do any running (unless that’s your thing).

Instead, I’d like you to submit your best prediction of my finishing time, and learn a little more about two fellow athletes/heroines in the process. The blog reader who submits the guess closest to my real finish time on April 21 will win a fabulous prize!

A little background to help with guessing: I have completed 4 marathons between 2003 – 2007. My finish times, from oldest to most recent, are (in hours and minutes) 5:07, 4:27, 3:49, and 3:44. Boston is a more challenging and hilly course than any of these courses. I believe I am in better condition than I was in all but the 3:44 marathon.

How to get in on this fun? Read about and contribute a small amount to the Boomer Esiason Foundation, an organization that funds scholarships that help people living with cystic fibrosis improve their health through daily exercise. In my own training, I have been inspired by Ana Stenzel and Isabel Stenzel Byrnes, two athletes and authors who are also living with cystic fibrosis. Squaring off against a chronic illness like CF makes running a “tiny little marathon” seem like next to nothing to me. After qualifying for Boston I decided to make running about more than just myself, so have been fund-raising all year. I’m about 75% to my goal of generating $1,000 in contributions.

To play, simply visit my Firstgiving page, read and learn a bit more about cystic fibrosis, and pledge an amount of your choice.  Even a pocket-change type contribution helps and is appreciated. Then come back to this blog entry and post a Comment with your finish time prediction.

Those of you who have already contributed, thank you again. You are automatically eligible to enter right now, so get guessing!

12 Responses to “Enter My Boston Marathon Finish Time Prediction Contest”


  1. 1 Isa Stenzel byrnes April 15, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Andrea- You will kick ass and be totally high during the race. Keep drinking and smiling!
    My prediction time is 3 hours and 55 minutes!!!! I think you can do it!

    Just keep breathing, don’t panic, just remember the rhythm of your breath, and what a gift it is! It’s ok to bitch and whine too but just let the air in and out, in and out, in and out. You know all of this!
    You’re a yoga teacher!

    Hugs and love to you, Isa

  2. 2 Charlie April 16, 2008 at 5:48 am

    You will do great at Boston!

    My prediction is: 3:39:59

    Have fun out there!

  3. 3 Lloyd April 16, 2008 at 6:07 am

    3:51:00

    Good luck, Andrea! Remember to take in the moment and experience the famed course. You will be a part of history.

  4. 4 Bug April 16, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Is there anyway we can track your status during the race?

    Bug

  5. 5 Band D April 17, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Your time: 4:04:04

    Very good!!

  6. 6 Carla April 17, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Ok, my guess was taken by Lloyd, so I’ll go with my second choice.

    3:49:37

    Can we track you somewhere online?

    Good luck and have a great time! You are an inspiration to me!

  7. 7 Staci April 17, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Oooh….my prediction (aside from you kicking some MASSIVE ASS), is 3:53:47.

    Have fun!!!

  8. 8 Kristen Kettler April 18, 2008 at 11:51 am

    I am SO very excited for you! Andyber, I have full confidence in 3:44:31

  9. 9 Amy April 19, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    3:52:30.

    🙂

  10. 10 RichMac April 19, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Go girl
    3.48.56

  11. 11 Sarah April 21, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Congrats on the strong finish Andrea! I’ve been thinking about you all day. You rock!


  1. 1 Boston Training: Week 12 Recap and 5 Days to Go! « In The Distance Trackback on April 16, 2008 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

a

Pages


