Welcome to Boston

Welcome sign

The sign, one of dozens in the Logan Airport baggage claim area, says it all.  From the moment my plane landed Saturday morning, I have felt like a guest of honor in Boston.  Last night my friend Lloyd and I ran the last couple miles of the course and received enthusiastic “Good Luck!” cheers from some Red Sox fans on the way to Fenway Park. Those well wishes have been echoed by store clerks, race expo workers, and fellow runners, many of whom resemble members of a special club with their regal-looking Boston Marathon jackets from past years.

Already, I am losing count of the special sights and small thrills. We can see the famous “1 mile to go” neon Citgo sign from the hotel.  This morning I was inspired by watching the Women’s Olympic Trials marathon race, seeing beautiful, dedicated, and gifted athletes make running a 2:30 marathon look like a relaxed jog. I ran through historic and scenic Boston Common and browsed marathon history in Bill Rodgers Running Company. Best of all is sharing everything with the company of fellow runners and friends. I almost keep forgetting there’s a little starting line in Hopkinton I’m due on tomorrow, but that’s probably good for pre-race nerves.

Please make yourself welcome to join me on the marathon course Monday morning. The Boston Marathon website will post results after the race and feature a link to live athlete tracking during the event. Anyone who wants to check my progress can search for me by name or Bib number, 17613. My start time is 10:30 a.m. EST and if the Internet tracking site works, updates should post at various checkpoints of the course.

Time to get my race gear laid out, then head out for one more serving of pasta.

I’m ready.

Thank to everyone who’s followed, encouraged, and supported me by dropping in to my blog over the past few months. I can’t wait to come back and share my day with you.

4 Responses to “Welcome to Boston”


  1. 2 Carla April 21, 2008 at 10:49 am

    My students and I are following along and cheering for you! Enjoy the race!

  2. 3 Kristen Kettler April 21, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thinking about you today!

  3. 4 Bug April 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Way to go Andrea! So fun to follow you online. I’m so proud of you.

    Bug


Leave a Reply

a

Pages


