Boston in Pictures

The Boston Marathon is about more than the 26.2 miles to cover on Patriot’s Day morning. This year’s running was extra eventful, with the women’s US Olympic Team marathon trials on Sunday. For a first-timer like me, it seemed I was discovering a new special memory throughout the four days I spent in Beantown. Here are a few images of some of my favorite experiences:

Saturday

After picking up race packets and resisting temptation to oversplurge in the colossal “runners’ mall,” Lloyd and I positioned ourselves ahead of winner Robert Cheruiyot at the race Expo. 

I spent a little time scoping the Finish area on Boylston Street.

Sunday

Watching the women race was motivating and inspiring.

Monday

One of the highlights of the marathon was seeing my cheering section halfway through.

Celebrating at one of Boston’s many Irish pubs.

Tuesday

My cousin’s daughters thought the Finisher medals were pretty cool, especially the unicorn logo.

A final stop in Boston was the Bill Rodgers Running Company, where we got training tips for next time from the store’s founder and four-time Boston Marathon winner.

 

 

 

1 Response to “Boston in Pictures”


  1. 1 kemibe April 29, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Glad you had such a great experience, Andrea. You obviously had a big emotional investment in this and I can tell you’re still riding high. It’s great that so many people close to you were a part of your story.

    I can’t imagine how many people you must have passed by running the last mile in a little over 8:00. Hell, some of the guys I have finished near in my races there weren’t moving much faster than that by that stage of the game.

    Amy was texting me like a madwoman and informing me of your splits. You definitely have an uberfan in the Philly area.

    If you’re willing to hunt around for yourself, jimrhoades.com always has a crapload of pictures taken at various junctures of the race.

    Maybe I’ll see you there next year (or on the Parkway this fall). On a side note, if you want to amuse yourself by listening to a Running Times podcast with me and Scott Douglas, go here.


Leave a Reply

a

Pages


