May 4-May 10 Training

I know quite a few early spring marathon runners who are preparing to tackle the 26.2 distance for a second time in a matter of weeks in May marathons: Cleveland, Vermont City, Madison, and more.  I had fleeting thoughts of joining in on the back-t0-back fun, but doing so would be ignoring what my body needs. My recovery from Boston has not been swift, and I have a few lingering achy spots that deserve some TLC.  So recovery continued this week of training, and at long last seemed to be working. I felt stronger and smoother again on the run.

Now I should be ready to rebuild an even better training base, so it’s time to start thinking about goals for the second half of 2009.

May 4 – May 10

Monday – 4.5 mile hike (Brecksville Reservation trails)

Tuesday – 5.25 easy (roads)

Wednesday – 1300 yard swim

Thursday – 6.5 easy (Buckeye Trail); core strengthening exercises

Friday – 5.3 easy (roads); core strengthening exercises

Saturday – 11 miles (towpath)

Sunday – Rest day

Totals: 28 miles running; 4.5 miles hiking; 1300 y swimming

Good stuff: Although my legs still feel fatigued earlier in a run, by the end of the week the sluggishness and heaviness had finally cleared out. 

Stuff to keep an eye on: My right shin is a little achy/inflamed again, since Saturday’s run. It did not hurt during the run, but I must have aggravated its somehow. As always, continue to log my food intake each day, along with permanent sensible, balanced, more mindful eating habits to achieve goal weight.

Goals for the week: Look ahead and put some events on my summer calendar, as well as think about fall. Make plans for the rest of the year so I can train with more purpose.

0 Responses to “May 4-May 10 Training”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

a

Pages


